Diet

Easy Gluten Free Diet

Diet without gluten consists of ingredients which do not contain gluten, a protein found in wheat such as rice, corn, millet etc. Food without gluten is used to treat celiac disease – a common disease which is inclining in its frequency. Gluten causes inflammations with people in their small intestine, which is why it’s important for people suffering from celiac disease to keep an extremely close eye on what are they eating. You can easily control your celiac disease with a proper gluten free diet which will also enable you to prevent any serious health complications from happening. Once you start with such a routine, you may be frustrated but over time, with patience and creativity being your two biggest allies you will realize that there are replacements for all of the foods you so sorely loved, but needed to stop consuming it due to high gluten percentage.

Details about this diet

Making the transfer to a diet which lacks gluten is a big change, and as any other big change, your body and mind need time to adapt to it. In the beginning you may feel cut out of your right to eat what you love due to all of the limitations. This is where you need to stay positive and focused on foods you can actually eat without endangering your health. You may be surprised to know that there are many industrial products out there which do not contain gluten – you can find breads, pastas and many other foods in special variants where they don’t contain gluten.

If you’re just beginning with this gluten free program, it may be best for you to consult a nutritionist, as he will be able to provide you with proper advices and recommendations. You will also get a proper answer to any of your questions you may have that are related to your celiac condition.

Approved foods

Plenty of healthy and tasty foods naturally come gluten-free, such as beans, seeds, nuts, fresh eggs, fresh meat, fish and birds, fruits and vegetables and most of the dairy products.

It’s important to make sure that what you are eating isn’t processed and mixed with any other foods containing gluten, any kind of additives or conservancies. You can also consume plenty of amaranth, buckwheat, corn, rice, soy, corn, beans, cornmeal, millet, sorghum, tapioca etc. If you are purchasing your wheat in a store, make sure that it doesn’t contain gluten – the label on the back should provide you with this information.

Forbidden foods and beverages

By all means you should avoid barley, rye, triticale, and plain wheat. This is probably the biggest issue to avoid as wheat is found in hundreds of regular products, especially in bakeries. You need to be careful with it as it comes in many different names.

In case the label indicates that there is no gluten, you can drink beer; eat cakes and pies, French fries, pastas, salads, vegetables in sauce etc. If there is no label to confirm this, you should avoid these groceries as well.

About the author

Rani Vyas

Rani Vyas

I'm a Medical Consultant Doctor with a keen interest in Medical bioinformatics and genuinely intriguing way of presenting boring medical knowledge in an enchanting and eye catching way.

Leave a Comment